Back to sewing!

So….After about 5 years of not sewing a thing, I decided I would get the mean machine out again!

My mum suggested I could make her an apron for Christmas….So here I am making her one for Mothers Day! Better late than never. The instructions I liked the most were these ones on Kathys Cottage blog. It was really easy and the end result is great. I like that this one is lined, as many of the other ones I saw weren’t.

I bought some awesome fabric, white muslin to line and double fold bias binding for the strap off eBay, and away I went!

1457041950008

I think it turned out alright! You can’t see on the photo but the cocktails are sparkly!

It really didn’t take long at all, if I’d have had a decent pair of scissors (I was using blunt kitchen scissors to cut my fabric), an iron (I had to go to my sister house to iron the hem) and if I didn’t manage to accidentally dismantle my sewing machine as I took the bobbin out (it’s been a while! I forgot how to do it….) It would have only taken maybe 2 hours max.

Now for my next project.On my list of things I would like to sew are:

  1. Yoga mat bag
  2. Sewing machine cover
  3. Bunting

A few easy projects (I think) to get me started, and I want to start making clothes!

Leave a comment